New appointments to Budget & Appropriations Process Reform Committee

On Feb. 22, House Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wisc.) announced appointments to the Joint Select Committee on Budget and Appropriations Process Reform. This committee was recently established by the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 with a goal to provide recommendations and legislative language to “significantly reform the budget and appropriations process.” Speaker Ryan appointed Reps. Steve Womack (R-Ark.), Pete Sessions (R-Texas), Rob Woodall (R-Ga.), and Jodey Arrington (R-Texas). Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) also announced the appointment of Reps. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), John Yarmuth (D-Ky.), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-Calif.), and Derek Kilmer (D-Wash.) to the new budget and appropriations panel. Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) announced that Sens. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), and Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii) would serve on the panel for Senate Democrats. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) is expected to announce his appointments by the end of the week.  (Source: Adhoc Group for Medical Research, Feb. 2018)